T20 World Cup 2021

In 2021, the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is scheduled to take place in the UAE and Oman, and this will be the seventh tournament to take place there.

 The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced in July 2020 that the COVID-19 pandemic had caused the postponement of this tournament. Australia was scheduled to host this tournament from 18 October to 15 November 2020. As planned, the ICC confirmed that India will host the 2021 tournament, followed by Australia which will host the 2022 tournament. Due to concerns over the COVID-19 pandemic situation in India, the ICC announced that the tournament will be played in the United Arab Emirates in June 2021. On 14 November 2021, the final of the tournament will be played. The tournament starts on 17 October 2021. It is scheduled that the UAE and Oman will share the preliminary rounds of the tournament.

The Afghanistan cricket team has been under the control of the Taliban since August 20, 2021, and concerns and doubts have been raised concerning their participation within the tournament. According to Hikmat Hassan, the media manager of the Afghan cricket team, Afghanistan will participate in the T20 World Cup despite the political turmoil within the nation.

 The ICC confirmed in April 2020 that the tournament would still take place as scheduled despite the COVID-19 pandemic. A senior ICC official, however, said that it would be too risky to host the tournament in 2020, The ICC also stated that multiple contingency plans are being considered in case of cancellation. A decision on the tournament was originally scheduled for the ICC’s meeting on 10 June 2020, with an extra announcement scheduled for July 2020. The tournament scheduled for June 2020 is unlikely to happen, according to Earl Eddings, chairman of Cricket Australia. According to Eddings, Australia could host the tournament in October 2021, and India could host it a year later in 2022. Additionally, the ICC considered moving the tournament around the next Women’s ODI World Cup, which was originally scheduled to take place in New Zealand in February 2021.

 The Australian government announced at a press conference last month that international travel would be restricted until the middle of 2021. Furthermore, the International Cricket Council confirmed that either Australia or India, the hosts for the original 2020 and 2021 tournaments, would host this year’s World Cup. The ICC confirmed in August 2020 that India will host the 2021 tournament, while Australia will host the 2022 tournament. A backup venue for the same month of the tournament will also be Sri Lanka or the United Arab Emirates, according to the ICC. CEO Geoff Allardice says backup plans remain in place if the pandemic prevents India from hosting the tournament in April 2021. In an identical month, Dhiraj Malhotra, the president of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), announced that the United Arab Emirates would serve as a contingency if the pandemic in India continued to worsen. As a potential co-hosting country, Oman is also being considered by the BCCI. As of 1 June 2021, the ICC gave the BCCI until 28 June 2021 to decide where the tournament will be played. The BCCI would remain the hosts of the competition regardless of the location of the tournament. It was later announced that the tournament would be held in UAE and Oman. A cricket World Cup was held outside of the elite Test-playing nations for the first time in the UAE and Oman, which hosted an international ICC event.

T20 World Cup 2021 Team List

These are the 16 teams participating in the ICC T20 World Cup 2021. According to the team ranking and qualifying matches, these are the same teams that qualified for the T20 World Cup 2020. 

1.India – T20 World Cup 2021 Team India Squad, Schedule and  Timetable




5.South Africa

6.New Zealand – New Zealand Squad For ICC T20 World Cup 2021

7.West Indies


9.Sri Lanka



12.Papua New Guinea





Teams and qualification

ICC Full Members who qualified for the 2021 tournament via their rankings on 31 December 2018 include the nine highest-ranked Full Members and host India. The top eight teams from these ten teams qualified for the Super 12s stage of the tournament. Bangladesh and Sri Lanka did not qualify for the Super 12s instead they were placed in the groups. In addition to those teams, six other teams qualified for the tournament via the ICC T20 World Cup qualifier for 2019. United Arab Emirates and Nepal could only qualify through regional competitions within the ICC Men’s T20I Team Rankings. In the Super 12s, the top four teams from each group will advance.

 A win in A of the tournament, ahead of the Netherlands in net run rate, ensured Papua New Guinea’s qualification for the World Cup. This marked the first time that Papua New Guinea qualified for a World Cup in any format. After Ireland won B, also via net run rate, they became the second team to qualify this way.

 When Netherlands beat United Arab Emirates by eight wickets in the first match of the playoffs, the UAE only managed to score 80 runs in their innings and thus qualified for the T20 World Cup. The second qualifier match saw Namibia defeat Oman by 54 runs to qualify for the T20 World Cup for the first time. In the third qualifier, Scotland defeated hosts United Arab Emirates by 90 runs to get into the T20 World Cup. After beating Hong Kong by 12 runs in their last playoff match, Oman becomes the first team to qualify for the T20 World Cup.


 Teams selected a fifteen-player squad before the tournament. If required, each team also had the option to add seven players to their rosters for COVID-19. 


Two rounds will make up the T20 World Cup, which will consist of 42 matches in total. From the twelve games scheduled during Round 1, four teams will transfer to the Super 12s (Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands, Scotland, Namibia, Oman, and Papua New Guinea). The Super 12s, which will start on 24 October 2021, will feature 30 matches between the top eight ranked T20I teams and the four teams from Round 1. The teams will be divided into two groups of six, and then there may be three knockout games, two semifinals, and ultimately the final. ICC announced the teams for the tournament on 16 July 2021, selecting them based on the current rankings of the teams. The ICC announced the final fixtures for the tournament on 17 August 2021, which included matches for the primary round and the super 12 matches.


On April 17, 2021, the BCCI announced the names of the host cities for the 2021 World Cup. The final event was held in Ahmedabad as well as Bangalore, Chennai, Dharamshala, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mumbai, and New Delhi. Two of Pakistan’s group matches will be played in Delhi on 18 April 2021, with Mumbai hosting the semi-finals. Sourav Ganguly, BCCI President, confirmed on 28 June 2021 that the board had notified the ICC about their decision to move the event from India to the UAE. Several of the preliminary round matches will also be played in Oman. The ICC announced on 29 June 2021 that the T20 World Cup will be played in the UAE and Oman. Specifically, there will be four stadiums: Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium, Sharjah Cricket Stadium, and therefore the Oman Cricket Academy Ground. It took the ICC until July 2021 for the Tolerance Oval in Abu Dhabi to be approved to be one of the venues for the tournament.


  • No comments yet.
  • Add a comment